[Skip to main content]

Historical Hamlet of Nobiallo

Historical Hamlet

Nobiallo is an hamlet of the municipality of Menaggio, located on the shores of Lake Como, north of the town.
It is a picturesque fishing village, whose streets and stairways slope down to the lake.


The hamlet of Nobiallo is grouped around to the parish church of SS. Bartolomeo and Nicola with an unusual Romanesque bell tower dating back to the 13th century. In the church there are Renaissance and Baroque paintings and a unique eighteenth-century confessional of Valtellina workmanship.

The old Roman Regina road, which was one of the most important transit routes, crosses the inhabited centre, since it allowed a rapid connection between the Po Valley and the Oltrealpe. In ancient times the route climbed to Breglia and descended through the mountains of Carcente to Rezzonico, before the route through Nobiallo was open.

Continuing along the Regina road, we reach the Santuario della Madonna della Pace, whose name recalls the signing of the Treaty of Peace of the Pyrenees between France and Spain in 1659. The Sanctuary from the early 17th century has a bas-relief from 1484.

Historical Notes

The locality was a small agricultural village of ancient origin of the parish church of Menaggio.

Although it was the seat of a parish, it was one of the few municipalities in Lombardy which, in spite of this, was suppressed as part of the administrative reform of Empress Maria Teresa in 1757.

This content was originally published on mylakecomo.co.